Planning or Walking?

James 4 v 13- 17

Some of you say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to some city. We will stay there a year, do business, and make money.” 14 But you do not know what will happen tomorrow! Your life is like a mist. You can see it for a short time, but then it goes away. 15 So you should say, “If the Lord wants, we will live and do this or that.” 16 But now you are proud and you brag. All of this bragging is wrong. 17 Anyone who knows the right thing to do, but does not do it, is sinning.

Plans. I love plans. It was one o’clock on a Friday night, I had just arrived home from a party in one of our networking churches and was thoroughly looking forward to going to sleep. As I began to drift off I realised I had a text message. I opened it and began reading the message and proceeded to reply. We chatted for around an hour and I began to speak about God, as the messages unrolled I could feel myself more and more not having a clue what I was talking about. I wasn’t thinking the words they were just being written and appearing on the screen, as I tapped into what God was asking me to say, he began showing me ways to show this guy Gods love and care for him. We talked about God’s grace and love. That night he gave his life to the lord.

I tell you this not to boast in what happened but to boast in my God for although my plan, of sleeping earlier had been ruined, I got to witness the most amazing thing. Salvation.

Mary knew this too well. Joseph and her had a plan. They would get married, buy a house maybe have some kids (sound a tad familiar) but God decided, that is so lovely but you know what I’m going to give you something better, I’m going to let you be the mother of my son. I’m going to let you carry the saviour of the world and raise him up in my ways- and you know how Mary responded “I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May it be to me as you have said.” Then the angel left her. (Luke chapter 1 v 38) with obedience. She left her plan at the feet of Jesus, died to herself and began a new life through what God wanted for her. Her obedience contributed to the saving of the world.

So before you make a plan today, ask God what he wants, for he will make your path straight and surely show you the way he wants you to live.

All my love x

Leave a Reply

