Generosity

James 5 v 1-6  You rich people, listen! Cry and be very sad because of the troubles that are coming to you. Your riches have rotted, and your clothes have been eaten by moths. Your gold and silver have rusted, and that rust will be a proof that you were wrong. It will eat your bodies like fire. You saved your treasure for the last days. The pay you did not give the workers who mowed your fields cries out against you, and the cries of the workers have been heard by the Lord All-Powerful. Your life on earth was full of rich living and pleasing yourselves with everything you wanted. You made yourselves fat, like an animal ready to be killed. You have judged guilty and then murdered innocent people, who were not against you.

Being stingy sucks. Have you ever been around someone and all you feel is a vibe of greed or stingy-ness (pretend that’s a word). The amazing thing about my daddy is that he loves me, we all know this, but do you really understand how generous he is. You can never ever run from his love. If we look at Jonah. Jonah ran for months, he ran from the task God gave to him and Gods reply was basically I need to do something ridiculous so my child will listen to me. So he ordered a fish to swallow Jonah, and Jonah lived inside a fish for three days and three nights. For one I think that is ridiculously gross yet so awesome. God waited for Jonah. He encouraged him, led him and fought his fight yet he said “this is what is right for you, this is the best way for you to live” therefore out of care for him he corrected him. Then we read in Jonah two this amazing passage

“When I was in danger,
    I called to the Lord,
    and he answered me.
I was about to die,
    so I cried to you,
    and you heard my voice.
You threw me into the sea,
    down, down into the deep sea.
The water was all around me,
    and your powerful waves flowed over me.
I said, ‘I was driven out of your presence,
    but I hope to see your Holy Temple again.’
The waters of the sea closed around my throat.
    The deep sea was all around me;
    seaweed was wrapped around my head.
When I went down to where the mountains of the sea start to rise,
    I thought I was locked in this prison forever,
but you saved me from the pit of death,
    Lord my God.

“When my life had almost gone,
    I remembered the Lord.
I prayed to you,
    and you heard my prayers in your Holy Temple.

“People who worship useless idols
    give up their loyalty to you.
9 But I will praise and thank you
    while I give sacrifices to you,
    and I will keep my promises to you.
Salvation comes from the Lord!”

God hears your cries, but not only that he answers them in abundance, giving you every good gift from above. So lets not keep our possessions, time or energy to ourselves. Lets lift it all before God for like Jonah he will carry us through to our destiny. There is enough money and time for everyone. God has enough love and healing power for us all, Lets be generous people today.

All my love x

Leave a Reply

