Value

Proverbs 31 v  2-3

“My son, I gave birth to you.
    You are the son I prayed for.
Don’t waste your strength on women
    or your time on those who ruin kings.

Each person in this world is a gift. A treasure to be cherished. God places high value on  people, higher than birds or fish in the sea. When we realise each person has value, we see people in a different light. The man that lives at the bus shelters value is not less than yours. Your inability to see someone’s value does not define their worth. In the story of the good Samaritan this is modelled to us all too well. Two men cross the road, one stops. Simple. The body that lay on that ground was designed with purpose, full of destiny and just needed to be given the opportunity to shine. How many times do we not stop? How many times do we pass people and wish there was someone to help them. Well you see, that is supposed to be us. God gives us a heart to feel for people as he feels for them. He gives us eyes to see so that we can see them how he sees them and he gives us ears to hear his small whisper encouraging us to chase after that “lost cause”. No one is a lost cause to God. He picks us up, dusts us off and sets our foot on a solid rock and then uses us to be the capacity for him to do it for someone else. So today please stop. A simple smile can lift a downcast soul, and a simple hello could reignite someone’s fire for life again. Your words matter. Don’t be a woman who “ruins kings” be a woman who shines light, gives hope, lavishes love and cherishes people.

 “I used to pray that he would feed the hungry or do this and that but now I pray he will guide me to do whatever I’m supposed to do, what I can do. I used to pray for answers, but now I’m praying for strength. I used to believe that prayer changes things, but now I know that prayer changes us and we change things” – Mother Teresa

All my love x

Leave a Reply

