Clothes Matter

Proverbs 31 v 21-22

21 She does not worry about her family when it snows,
    because they all have fine clothes to keep them warm.
22 She makes coverings for herself;
    her clothes are made of linen and other expensive material.

Recently I have been reading Be Committed by Warren W. Wiersbe, within one of the passages it talks about Ruth and how when she went to meet Boaz she prepared her clothes. “In scripture clothing carries a spiritual meaning. She was put off by the garments of a sorrowing widow and dress for a wedding. Ruth probably didn’t have a large wardrobe but she would have one special garment for a festive occasions.” In Luke 15 v 22 and Isaiah 61 v 10- “I delight greatly in the LORD; my soul rejoices in my God. For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness, as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest, and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.” Salvation is pictured as a change of clothes and Christian living means taking off the “grave clothes” of the old life and putting on the “grace clothes” of the new life. What we wear matters, how we present and dress ourselves. If you dress up, you feel up. Doesn’t make sense, but wait, when I make effort to look a certain way often I feel better about myself. When I clothe my day in  prayer, it sets me free and gives me peace. God paid the ultimate price in order to clothe you in the most expensive things of all, grace, freedom and love. You were bought with a price and he freely gave his life so we could live in relationship with him.

Isn’t that incredible.

All my love x

Leave a Reply

