The Dreamer

I am a person who needs clarity. I don’t need methodical thinking because lets be honest I’m ditsy and completely all over the place but I do like to know where I am going. In Genesis 37 we read the story of Joseph the dreamer. I can totally even connect with his description- as I myself am a complete dreamer. Basically God comes and goes this is what is going to happen in your life, you are going to rule over your family because I say so. Joseph was a young man, he is said to be 17. His brothers reactions are less than supportive as you can guess. I mean like if you came a long to your best friends and said I’m going to rule over you because God said so people firstly would think your crazy and second really really big headed; they would probably have the same reaction as Joseph’s brothers.

His brothers said to him, “Do you intend to reign over us? Will you actually rule us?” And they hated him all the more because of his dream and what he had said. – verse 8

Even when Joseph told his father Jacob, he rained on his parade to saying ‘When he told his father as well as his brothers, his father rebuked him and said, “What is this dream you had? Will your mother and I and your brothers actually come and bow down to the ground before you?”. This dude is crazy. He is telling his very own father and brothers who are older than him that he will rule over them. Like what, can you imagine, this young son ruling over these mighty men of Jacob. Yet God chose him and when God tells you something- his plan will always prevails no matter how young, old, hurt, broken or afraid you are, because he sees who you are and what you can do and he sends you, prepared and equipped.

All my love x

Leave a Reply

