A confession of a 15 year old girl

Let’s be real. Sometimes I try to justify everything. Like Jesus said this is OK. I don’t do that because it breaks the law. But sometimes I hit a grey scale. A place in my life where there are 50 gazillion shades of grey and to be honest I never really know which hue to choose.

Take gossip. I love to chat. I’m such a girl. Make up, friends, clothes and shoes (never forget the shoes) are my jam. But you know what sometimes the conversations I have are grey scale.

House parties. Grey scale again. I don’t drink. I’m 15 guys. Is it OK to go? Is it not? What’s the lingo?  I don’t even know how to conduct myself at these things.

Just because something is technically legal doesn’t mean that it’s spiritually appropriate. If I went around doing whatever I thought I could get by with, I’d be a slave to my whims”. – 1 Corinthians 6:12 MSG

Then Jesus wrecked me. In a good way. You see in Corinthians Paul writes this piece. This knocked me for six. Sometimes I forget how polar opposite the choices of a Christian are compared to that of the world. I wonder if I stepped outside my life and if you stepped outside of yours would you notice a difference. Would I seem like every other 15 year old girl at my school. Would I fit in?

The truth is all we have to do is listen. Listen to the discernment of God and allow him to tell us how to honour him well. We over complicate this Christian thing way too much. Your a daughter/son. If you wanted advice what would you do? Ask.

He’s a good father. Ask him how you can better understand his character and therefore represent him. He will show you the way.

SH.

Leave a Reply

