No Comparison

“Admire someone else’s beauty without questioning your own”

Comparison, it really is the thief of joy and for a long time it stole mine, but now I see it makes no sense whatsoever. For a long time I struggled with this, I believed I was inadequate because I wasn’t as good as that other person. Sure, people told me I was loved, I was worthy, I was gifted, I was kind, but I distorted their words and instead my ears heard: you are loved, but not as much as them, you are gifted, but they are more gifted.

But, Paul in 1 Corinthians tells us that we are all unique and together we make up the body of Christ. In 1 Corinthians 12:18 he tells us “in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.” The gifts I have were given to me by God, he didn’t give me certain gifts but that’s ok, the talents he has given me have a purpose-they are no more or less valuable than anyone else’s. So yes I can admire someone else’s gifts but that doesn’t mean I have to question my own.

God has given me gifts, I can see that now, I’ve decided to embrace them. This is not me boasting, but by embracing my gifts I can use them to glorify His name. I will not boast in my gifts, but in God alone and thank him for what He has given me.

However we must remember not boasting is humble, but being self-deprecating is not. For a long time if someone complimented me I would reject it. But then I realised this was false humility, how was I glorifying God by denying his gifts. Someone once explained it to me in such a way that completely changed how I reacted when someone complimented me. They said, imagine your friend made you a necklace, you are wearing it and someone admires it you are going to praise your friend who made it, it wouldn’t be appropriate to say… “It’s not that great really.” God is our maker, when someone compliments us, they are complimenting God’s handiwork (checkout Ephesians 2:10) we shouldn’t be little it.

Believe this… You are Loved, You are Gifted, You are Beautiful, You are Worthy.

I am not telling you this, God is! He sees you as a new creation, as blameless through His grace, as worth rejoicing in, as gifted, as a friend, as forgiven, as His child, as a citizen of Heaven. That view can never be tainted, His love is unconditional.

Rachel x

Leave a Reply

