Get Out Of The Boat

take courage

27 But Jesus immediately said to them: “Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid.”

28 “Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

29 “Come,” he said.

Trust. That’s a word for a long time I liked to avoid, I liked matters to be in my hands, I prefered to be in control. Or so I thought.

In this passage Jesus has literally just asked Peter to walk on water and the amazing thing is he got out of the boat! He trusted that Jesus knew what he was talking about. However for a little moment he loses sight of Jesus and becomes afraid crying out “Lord save me.” and the wonderful thing is Jesus immediately reached out and caught him. Then he said to Peter why did you not trust me I was right there with you I wouldn’t let you fail. This always reminds me of learning to ride a bike, when my dad first let go of me I would ride along and then get scared, but he was always right there to catch me.

And it’s the same with Jesus, He is always with us, even in those situations that seem scary. In fact, it is easy to let fear control your life to not take a leap of faith because you are worried of the after effect, but if we trust God in those times when he tells us to take that leap of faith the outcomes are the best part. Take Peter for example, if he hadn’t got out of the boat he would never have walked on water and learnt to trust God fully.

In Hebrews 12:2 it says  “We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith.” The more we put our trust in God, fixing our eyes on Him the stronger our faith will grow. That knowledge that God’s got our back through all we do is so powerful. God promises us that He will help us, strengthen us and uphold us with His righteous right hand. This is something I really hold to in those times when I am struggling to leave my comfort-zone.

It’s time we stop being comfortable in our comfort zones. Maybe it’s time we get out of the boat and fully trust in God. Think of the potential, when we have the same power that conquered death on our side, strengthening us in those times of fear.

Remember, God calls us to “Take Courage” and get out of the boat.

Leave a Reply

