The Call to Rest

otm14 river
Feeling tired? Maybe thinking it’s time to drink another cup of coffee? Because you need to keep working. You can’t stop, you have exams, they are important, you need to pass. Sound familiar? If I had a penny for every time this has ran through my head I would be rich.
Yes, exams are important and as Shannon said in her previous post, it is important to work, but you know what else is important…rest. This is something that took me a long time to realise. I was sure the only way to progress was to keep going, but trust me that doesn’t work.
I put so much emphasis on how important work was that I forgot to think about how important rest is. Finally something clicked inside me that God was calling me to be still. I In Psalm 23 David writes;

He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters,
he refreshes my soul
God sees our need for rest and calls us to sit and be still in his presence and He will replenish us, immeasurably more than any cup of coffee ever could.
Something that has really struck a chord recently is the story of Mary and Martha at home with Jesus. Martha is flustered trying to do many things whilst Mary sat listening at the feet of Jesus. Jesus calls to Martha saying;
“My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! 42 There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”
It is so easy for us to put other things before our relationship with Jesus. We can think we are too busy and set our energy on other things. But Jesus tells us not to worry over the little things. He calls us to sit at His feet, as Mary did and spend time in His peaceful presence.
So I challenge you to think about those little things that are worrying you, and instead of tiring yourself out panicking over it, give it to God. Sit at His feet and accept His gift of peace, follow His call to rest.
2 thoughts on “The Call to Rest

Leave a Reply

