Unconditional

At the minute I’m beginning to look at universities and what I need to achieve to get in. I’ve realised that it’s all about proving myself, I have to live up to expectations, in the forms of grades. On top of this I need to show my passion for the course I want to do. Constantly justifying, constantly living up to expectations.I’m not telling you this to make you feel sorry for me, but to open your eyes to the pressure of constantly feeling like you need to prove your worth.

But here’s the good part. This is not how it works with God! We are not bound by the chains of expectations and standards. No, we are free, because God’s love is not dispensed based on our actions. This is so beautifully explained in Ephesians 2:8-9 which says

 “God saved you by his grace when you believed. And you can’t take credit for this; it is a gift from God.  Salvation is not a reward for the good things we have done, so none of us can boast about it.”

How great is that! By grace alone we have been saved. God loves us unconditionally as His children, no matter what! This continues to amaze me time and time again. It is so easy to feel inadequate and “not good enough for God” but you know what-He gets that and in Romans this is confirmed as we are told that we “all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” But wait, the next bit is where I find my freedom; “and all are justified freely by His grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”

A life with God is a life of freedom, not a life of restriction, or a life of discontment from striving for something we can never achieve. We are justified by His amazing grace not by how amazing our actions are. Someone once told me there is nothing you can do to make God love you any more or any less than He already does. This beautiful truth, sets you free… we don’t have to beg for God’s love or attention, He already gives us it.

Our freedom is something to praise God for, He breaks the chains of inadequacy and tells us those three simple words, “I love You.” No matter when, no matter what your situation, no matter how far off you think you are He Loves You.

 

Leave a Reply

