Free From Fear

Nina Simone once said “I’ll tell you what freedom is to me. No. Fear.” What a truth, if we have nothing to fear we have nothing holding us back. But unfortunately finding freedom isn’t as easy as just saying, ‘I’m not going to be afraid.’ Or is it?

Recently I realised fear roots from a lack of trust in God. We say “I don’t know how my life is going to pan out when I leave school” and God says “I know the plans I have for you” (and they are awesome!).

Then we become afraid that we can’t fulfil His plans for us, that we don’t have the tools. When that seed is planted God constantly reminds me of Moses he feels unworthy to do the Lord’s work protesting “Who am I to appear before Pharaoh?” but God reassuringly responds “I am with you” (Exodus 3:11-12) It is the same for us, and not only is He with us, but he fills us with the Holy Spirit which strengthens us.

Maybe the fears in your life go deeper than these things, but whatever they are, they are chains which restrict you. But they don’t have to be. David writes in the Psalms;

“I am constantly hounded by those who slander me, and many are boldly attacking me. But when I am afraid. I will put my trust in you. I praise God for what he has promised. I trust in God, so why should I be afraid?”

What an amazing example of faith. God promises to us free us from fear. So next time you feel fear holding you back, listen for the gentle whisper of God’s promises. Say, ‘I am free from my fear because GOD IS WITH ME’

Leave a Reply

