Less of Me, More of Him

Humility. Something so many of us strive to have, but recently I’ve been really challenged about how live humbly. So much of the time we try to be humble by being self-deprecating, but this is so far from what God intended a life of humility to be. I recently heard humility being described as “not thinking less of ourselves, but of ourselves less.” But how can we practically live this out?

The first thing we need to remember is to put God first with no compromises. Think about why you make compromises? Is it because you care about what people will think? Worried about how they will react? fear of failing? I know for me these are all reasons why I have compromised my faith. But the bible calls us to throw away that pride and remember that this life is not our own. A verse that always stands out to me on this issue is Galatians 2:20 which says

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me”

This verse really challenges me that in all that I do I want it to be for God and not myself. Recently I was really convicted on the whole issue of dying to self and putting God’s plan first. I was at a bible study and there was a time of prayer, as I prayed I felt God telling me to prayer for the guy next to me. I got so caught up in my thoughts that I convinced myself not to do it, I was worried what he would think and ultimately let my pride stop me from pursuing God’s call.

Although this was obviously not what God wanted, it didn’t stop His plan. The next minute my friend got up and went to pray for him. At first I thought that should have been me, but soon I came to the realisation that it’s not about me. God didn’t let my disobedience stop him because I was not the most important factor in that equation, God was.

Only by God’s grace am I able to tell you this without being overcome with guilt. I continue to strive to live a life of obedience for God and to put Him first, but sometimes we fail and you know what that’s ok! We will all fall short of the glory of God on many occasions, but because of the cross we are forgiven for this and continue to pursue Him and let His kingdom come.

I realise I’ve said quite a lot in this post, but I really want to challenge us all, including myself, to think about the things we let take priority over God and pray that God will help us to always put Him first. I know it can be tough, and this might take a while but know that there is such freedom in letting God be Lord of your life and living a life of humility with God before you.

Leave a Reply

