Take some time

To busy people,

You may feel that your days don’t allow even a moment for you to breath, mornings become nights and before you know it it’s time to go to school again. It can be tiring, even draining, living in this never ending cycle of saying ‘Yes’ to yet another commitment you can’t really commit to and trying to run on empty. Trust me it doesn’t work.

But I know what it’s like, wanting to fill your day with things that just all can’t be confined to 24 hours. And then there’s those times when we feel obliged to do something we know we don’t have the time or energy for, but guess what? we still say yes! I’ve been there so many times but believe me when I say that it’s ok to say no, seriously. And I know you want to show your love for others through our service to them, but sometimes it is more loving to say no. Lysa Terkeust perfectly sums this up saying; ” we must not confuse the command to love with the demand to please.”

Don’t get me wrong it’s great to be busy and make the most of every opportunity, it’s even biblical (check out Ephesians 5:16). However, we must differentiate between being being busy and being TOO busy. If you are finding you don’t have time to be still with God and to meditate and study His word, you are probably too busy. If you are making the most of A LOT of opportunities but only being able to execute them half-heartedly then you are also probably too busy.

So if you fit into those categories, or others similar, know there is wisdom in saying “no.” Yes we should serve eagerly but if we are undertaking tasks which we can’t put our whole heart it is unlikely that we can glorify God in that. Saying “no” may facilitate an opportunity for someone else to make the most of what could be an amazing service to God which will glorify His name.

I’ll leave you with this, its ok to say no. This is something I have to remind myself a lot because I desperately want to accept every request I get, but I know that will hurt not only my soul, but my relationship with Jesus.

love SSL x

PS-check out Matthew 6:33

 

Leave a Reply

