Perspectives: I Can’t…

“I can’t do that, that’s for someone else”-This is a phrase which I found myself saying or thinking on many occasions. That sense of not feeling qualified, we look at the task ahead and just can’t understand how we could ever conquer that.

Audrey Hepburn famously said “Nothing is impossible, the word itself says ‘I’m possible'” As great as this quote sounds I’m going to tweak it slightly. When we face those obstacles and times when we doubt our ability to be bringers of the Kingdom remember that “He’s possible.” Lets be real, we are only human and this limits us, but the thing is God is limitless and He works within us, therefore He gives us limitless ability through His power.

In Matthew 17 we find the great passage where Jesus speaks to the disciples saying “if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘move from here to there’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” This verse amazes me everytime I read it, Jesus is telling us that even with the tiniest bit of faith we can move mountains!

I know God is so so powerful and I know that His power is within me, yet I still doubt my ability to share His word, to fulfil my calling. Take the example of a lamp, I know it has the ability to shine but unless I click the switch it won’t fulfil this. We have the power with the Holy Spirit within us, now we just need to use it-it’s one thing knowing, it’s another to apply it.

So next time you doubt yourself or feel unqualified to do something, shift your perspective. Stop looking at your own power, but the power of the Holy Spirit which lives within you and know that through faith and the power of the Holy Spirit, nothing is impossible.

Leave a Reply

