Brokenness Is Not The Promise

Light fades, and at the very end of the day all your little pieces are laying on the ground. Your broken and its hard to imagine being any other way. Your heart physical hearts and you wish you could take it out and give it a good stretch – for just, maybe then, brokenness wouldn’t be what you would come home to at night. Your brains a muddle. You can’t really organise thoughts in your head and that one thought runs around your brain like a never ending spinning top.

Sometimes we feel broken. Sometimes in a good way – we are broken for a people, for an issue, we are broken because of compassion. But sometimes we feel broken because of a huge altering ‘thingy magig’ in our life that we can’t name. Due  to circumstances that are outside of our control. We feel like a tiny chick who feels forgotten, lonely and like the nest has been pushed out beneath us. That they have been told to fly LONG before they ever felt ready.

Joshua spoke to me in a time of brokenness. So today I hope it speaks to the core of your brokenness, that it wraps around he roots and starts to break them down – but above all else, I hope Joshua makes you realise that brokenness for a season may be what you hold. But that brokenness is not Gods promise over your life. That for a season you will need to be broken – but not to camp in that hallway. To rest. But then to knock on the door of opportunity.

“Moses my servant is dead. Now therefore arise, go over this Jordan, you and all this people, into the land that I am giving to them, to the people of Israel.  Every place that the sole of your foot will tread upon I have given to you, just as I promised to Moses.”

– Joshua 1 v 2&3

Joshua must have been broken. In the midst of his brokenness God reminded him of the promises over his life. That he was called to first love God and serve him only – but practically he was called to lead the Israelites to the land they had been waiting for, for over 400 years. In times of brokenness get around people who will sit with you in the darkness, walk with you in the rain but who are wise enough to discern the right time to remind you of the promises God has spoken over you.

Moreover, I have heard the groaning of the people of Israel whom the Egyptians hold as slaves, and I have remembered my covenant. Say therefore to the people of Israel, ‘I am the Lord, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will deliver you from slavery to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment. I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the Lord your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob. I will give it to you for a possession. I am the Lord.’

– Exodus 6 v 5-8

The promise to Joshua was a generational promise. It was a promise passed from Abraham to Isaac to Jacob to Moses and now to Joshua. Joshua probably grew up with the promises. He knew all about the promise. However despite his brokenness he was willing to follow Gods promises to the end of the earth – whenever they were called to come to pass. Joshua took his eyes of his brokenness and set them on Jesus’. He didn’t pretend he wasn’t broken.

Just as I was with Moses, so I will be with you. I will not leave you or forsake you. Be strong and courageous, for you shall cause this people to inherit the land that I swore to their fathers to give them.’ – Joshua 1 v 5&6

God knew he was broken. He knew that the very task that Joshua was called to fulfill was too much for him. However God so intimately designing each detail of us, knew that Joshua at his time needed to be strong and courageous. Joshua knew that the one who reigned within him was greater than anything in the world. Joshua set his eyes on Jesus. He walked a long the path of life following every imprint of the father’s steps. He allowed himself to be broken but knew that resting in Gods presence would always be his greatest support through any brokenness.

Today know it is ok to be broken. Know that there will be seasons where you will camp in the brokenness. Yet also know to be supported in your brokenness – to get around people who will call out the promises on your life. Lastly know God knows you so intimately – that He is the very one who ‘binds up the broken hearted’. He knows your name, He knows your pain, He see’s you – He will fulfill His promises to you. Rest in that.

 

All our love x

Leave a Reply

