All about that book

Someone once said ” In books I have travelled, not only to other worlds, but into my own.” Anyone who knows me even the slightest will know I love to read, I am one of those annoying people who will leave you with a huge pile of books to read because I just can’t help recommending every amazing book I’ve read to others. But as well books have been pivotal in my relationship with Jesus, finding a book that points me to God and His word is always a winner. Now I’m about to leave you with a few books to add to that infinite “to be read pile.”

For those exploring faith and Jesus…

Blue Like Jazz.  This book was one of the first christian books I read and follows Donald Miller’s own journey of faith in a brutally honest way. There is something so special reading such a candid account of someone’s journey with so much relatable content. This book doesn’t contain any confusing theology or religious jargon, however it does contain a
cartoon strip (you’re going to have to read it to find out more) Wherever you are in your faith, just read it.

For putting feet to your faith…

Love Does. Have you ever thought about God’s love as a verb? This is exactly what Bob Goff explores in this book, writing stories of himself and others about how they have answered the call to share God’s love everywhere they go through their actions. This book is literally a written pep-talk and a easy, but enlightening read.

Praying Bolder Prayers…

Red Moon Rising. This book follows the 24-7 prayer movement and Pete Greig writes of how God has moved in big ways through something as simple as prayer. Reading this I was drawn to be more expectant and found a new appreciation for the gift of prayer. To be able to be in conversation with the creator of the universe in such an intimate way is something that constantly baffles me. (PS-if you’ve read this already Greig’s new book Dirty Glory is also a fab shout!)

I could write on and on about even more amazing books, but for now I will leave you with these three. As I’ve already said these are books that have been pivotal in my journey with God, but we must not forget the ultimate, life-changing, life-breathing book, God’s word itself-The Bible. Although it is amazing to read the interpretations and experiences of some truly gifted people it is important that we always put the Bible first.

In 2 Timothy 3:16-17 Paul writes “ All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. 17 God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.”

Never lose wonder at God’s amazing book, continue to pursue knowledge in order to know Him better through both The Bible and other books inspired by His word.

 

 

Leave a Reply

