Its Good He Is Greater

Dear Child,

Sometimes you need a good duvet day. You need to roll up from the world and allow yourself to feel fragile and broken. You need to give Adele a run for her money and truly roll in the deep of your big girl tears. It’s ok to allow yourself sometimes to feel the darkest parts of your soul. So often we forget that they exist. We allow ourselves to float through life feeling great, like nothing can ever phase us. I was reminded recently that Jesus washed the feet of those who betrayed him. Somewhere admist the treacherous acts we committed. Somewhere in-between the confusion, harrowing acts and impossibilities – Jesus, Our Jesus, out of knowing who he was in true humility got down on his hands and knees and decided to wash the feet of those just like me. So often we feel ashamed or run from the word sin – we mark it as something only the ‘hard-line’ Christians can say and something that will simply scare people. But the truth is to disregard our past nature is to disregard the wholesome love God has given for us. It is to remove the power of the cross. To forget who we are and where we have come from is to throw the very work of Jesus, in his face. To fail to admit that we are all fumbling through life – sinning, not exactly like before – but still sinning all the same. It is to offer a complete disservice to a broken and confused world. Because ‘perfect Shannon’ isn’t real. Because pretending that I have my life together is a complete lie. Besides I am one of them. Once a sinner in total need of the grace of the fathers love. Who daily needs to remind herself of this. That’s the truth of who I am. I am not better than the next person. I have just recognized I need saving. Who has allowed herself to be saved my a loving father. A father who has promised to love me at my darkest (Romans 5 v 8), who has set my foot on a solid rock (Psalm 40 v 2). Who even though I often fail to see it- he has lifted me out of the darkest pit – even though in my mess I choose to go back there… sometimes. I am the friend of the one true Jesus who was wholly man, wholly afraid, yet wholly God, who fulfilled his mission and because of this I will one day be found in heaven. He refused to give up while being mocked, harassed and violently left bloodless – he refused to lift up his hands and say I’ve had enough of this. So maybe life’s hard. Maybe life is stressful – maybe you are unsure, confused, feel inadequate. But you are endlessly loved, forever chosen and set so apart for such a time as this. These aren’t just statements thrown together to make you ‘feel good’, these are the truths that you can walk in. You were created, you weren’t just thrown together – you were dreamed up. Your gifts, talents and even short comings were assigned as gifts to you to show the beauty and glory of his handiwork. Your life isn’t small. It isn’t unimportant. It isn’t one big mess. Your life is beautiful, and it was created – just for you to live. Yes you may still sin sometimes, but you were never saved by or to sin. You are no longer a sinner. You were saved by grace to create beautiful things. That is the most altering truth.

Grander earth has quaked before

Moved by the sound of His voice
Seas that are shaken and stirred
Can be calmed and broken for my regard

Through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
Through it all, through it all
It is well

Through it all, through it all
My eyes are on You
It is well with me

Far be it from me to not believe
Even when my eyes can’t see

And this mountain that’s in front of me
Will be thrown into the midst of the sea

So let go my soul and trust in Him
The waves and wind still know His name

It is well with my soul

-It Is Well, Bethel.

We have so much love for you, keep moving forward, keep believing that dreaming is possible. Keep the knowledge that you were created. Keep going little fighter for soon things will be brighter and we will ALWAYS be cheering you on.

SSL x

Leave a Reply

