I am Holy 

 A couple of months ago we got the privilege to partner with IJM and Exodus (check them out! – they are both transforming the landscape of what it looks like to humbly live with the heart of God). We got to deliver a prayer night for young people here and abroad. We got the joy of partnering with a God who loves to hear our voice. He loves to hear our hearts cry. 

The station I had the privilege of leading was all about understanding that God loves us so much as who we are. And we have the joy of honouring our bodies and lives to honour Him. 

It was a month later I got the privilege of understanding what this truly meant to me. Here’s my story of how that night impacted my story.  

We can’t add to His blood. His blood is enough. Simple really but in practice oh how complicated my heart and mind makes it. At the very start of summer I met up with one of my best friends from school. She told me that when describing me the other girl in our trio gad described me as holy. 

I’d love to say my into reaction was incredible. That I was chuffed. I wasn’t. I didn’t understand. You see I took holy as religious. Which was probably how it was intended. But God in that sweet moment was trying to whisper something into my heart that I had been ‘too busy’ to listen. 

He was telling me that I was His. That I was holy, cleansed and loved. He was reminding me that the prayer that my heart prays to be of total service to Him was awnsered. He was letting me know that my heart was wholly devoured to Him at that moment. He was telling me I was anointed for service. 

And I in that moment rejected the very thing I had wanted to hear Him say. But God in all His grace and beauty told me anyway. He then had the patience to let me figure out exactly what He wanted me to know. 

I thank God because He uses people from all walks of life to interject in your story. For I was going down a path it thinking I was unworthy for use, without purpose. And that is the greatest lie I could have ever been telling myself. 

So with that I tell you – you have something to bring to the table. You are made worthy through His name. Sometimes all you need is a backwards compliment. 

All my love, Shannon x

Leave a Reply

