Get Out of the Zone 

‘A ship at harbour is safe, but that’s not what ships are for.’ This year I told myself I’d step out of my comfort zone…Not realising how far I’d be out of it. Writing is not something I feel confident doing but I know God has given me this opportunity and I should grasp it with both hands. #shipquote 

The Nehemiah night was something I had planned to go to but when I arrived I was asked to take a station.

At the station I manned there were 4 journals which the girls of SSL had written. They addressed 4 major themes: Integrity, stress, the future and friends in school.

Every person there could relate to each account because we’ve all experienced these feelings/situations at some point in our lives. 

Some people chose to pray out loud while others reflected quietly into themselves. The presence of God in the hall was undeniable.

It was really amazing hearing people pray for what God had highlighted through the diaries. But these are the main things that stood out to me from that night.

Integrity is the quality of being honest and having strong moral principles. The person who wrote this diary entry described how they find this a challenge. It is scary, but what I took from it was that we shouldn’t be. To allow God to shine through us and for us to glorify Him we need to be honest. Not just with the people around us but also with ourselves. In Proverbs 10:9 it says ‘Whoever walks in integrity walks securely, but whoever takes crooked paths will be found out.’

Stress has been something I’ve suffered with for a couple of years (without even realising it) so this diary entry really struck a cord with me. Exams were just around the corner and they were the only thing my mind was focused on. It’s so easy to become so consumed by it all. I acted like everything was fine because that’s what I felt was expected from me. I should be able to handle the pressure. Matthew 6:34 was referenced by the person who wrote it, ‘Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.’ I always thought I could cope on my own. But the truth is that I can’t. I need God… we all do. He provides us with the strength to keeping battling. 

The cause of majority of my stress and probably most of the world’s worry is the future. The uncertainty of what is going to happen in our lives is daunting but also exciting. From a young age I’ve always felt a calling to pursue a career in veterinary. However I have friends and family who have no idea what they want to do in the future. Going through school having numerous careers conventions and work experience days I can appreciate how many people get confused and stressed about what to do. The pressure of picking the ‘right path’ is immense. I know it’s cliche but do what you love and trust that God will use you in wonderful ways no matter where you end up. God has a plan for us all so who are we to question it? 

Having a great group of friends who accept me for who and what I believe is something I’ve been blessed with. When reading this entry I was reminded of how its difficult to be a good witness. It’s so easy to go with the flow and to say nothing when something has been said that goes against what you think. She wrote about situations many people fail to acknowledge. It was amazing that some just said it. 

Therefore what should we do when we face these life hurdles? Pray. 

The power of prayer has overcome enemies, conquered death, brought healing, and defeated demons. God answers prayers that are in agreement with His will. The answers may not always be yes, but are always in our best interest.

If you take anything away from my post know that praying consistently will allow you to grow and develop your relationship with God. Ask and listen for his voice. Even since this event prayers have been answered so… keep praying!!!! 

All my love, Esther x

Posted in him

Leave a Reply

